i made brownies

So first you take 16 oz of almond butter, and then you mix it up with a handheld blender, or in this case a tiny food processer, I think in order to let it aerate. Then blend in 2 eggs, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1 tbsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 & 1/4 cup agave nectar or honey (or sugar) and 1 cup chocolate chips. I used Ghiradelli’s baking chocolate.

325 at 35-40 minutes.

I made these for a friend who doesn’t eat sugar or wheat or dairy. Unfortunately I didn’t realize until later that almond butter has lots of sugar in it. Oops. We worked this out together since she could not keep her little paws out of the batter.

She enjoyed this, and so did her housemates, but I’m just not that into baker’s chocolate. A lack of sugar makes me disappointed in desserts. Though a lot of people in my life are really restricting sugar, and that is kind of inspiring, not in a self-deprecation way but in my-body-feels-so-awesome-without-sugar kind of way. It’s quite rich, either way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

