blueberry bran muffins, or, how livejournal changed my life

1)2 cups (3oz/86g) wheat bran
1 cup (5oz/141g) oat bran
1 cup (6oz/170g) whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons (12g) baking soda
1 teaspoon (6g) baking powder
1/2 teaspoon (4g) salt
2 large eggs
2/3 cup (5oz by weight/156g) milk
2/3 cup (5-1/2oz/156g) yogurt
1/3 cup (2-1/4oz/65g) canola oil
1/3 cup (3-3/4oz/108g) molasses or cane syrup
1/3 cup (3-3/4oz/108g) honey
1 teaspoon (6g) vanilla extract (optional)

Place oven rack in middle of oven and heat oven to 375 degrees. Grease
a standard size muffin pan (I use canola oil and a silicone pastry
brush) or line cups with paper liners (which makes cleaning up a
breeze).

Combine wheat bran, oat bran, whole wheat flour, baking soda, baking
powder, and salt in a large bowl and set aside. Combine eggs, milk,
yogurt, canola oil, molasses, and honey in a small bowl and mix well.
(Note: you can use all honey or all molasses instead if desired.) Pour
wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix with a rubber spatula
just until combined.

Generously fill muffin cups with batter. (I use a stainless steel
scoop–these also work great for portioning out cookie dough.) Bake
until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20 to
25 minutes. Cool muffins in pan for 10 to 15 minutes, then carefully
remove from pan and serve warm, or let cool on a wire rack.

Enjoy them plain, drizzled with a little honey, or spread with peanut
butter and a slather of your favorite jam (apricot is very nice, as is
strawberry–right now I’m loving Trader Joe’s Organic Reduced Sugar
Preserves). Store muffins in an airtight container for up to 3 days or
freeze. (I think they taste even better the second day.) Defrost
muffins at room temperature, or in the microwave if you are in a
hurry.

Blueberry Bran Muffins
Makes about 10 large muffins. Follow Basic Bran Muffin recipe, but
gently fold 1-1/2 cups (7-1/2oz/214g) fresh or frozen blueberries into
the batter. There is no need to defrost frozen berries, but do quickly
rinse off any ice with cold water. Note to blueberry lovers: I made a
batch of these yesterday and, using my MoreMoreMore philosophy,
crammed 2 cups of big fat blueberries into the batter–yum.

I made blueberry bran muffins and used white flour instead of whole wheat and just honey instead of agave + honey because honey is easier to find and cheaper than agave. I made them for my friend’s birthday because she has an undue fondness for muffins in general of the bran variety and so that is what came into being.

Bran is really…..powdery. I had no idea.

And how livejournal changed my life? I had a livejournal from age 17-22, which was loud and public and full of all kinds of private information and personal disclosure. I broke up with somebody I had been dating for years and years and the easiest way I knew how to protect myself and my information in the onslaught of awkwardness and the ways you try to avoid other people via the internet was to just delete all that, which on the one hand was sad and on the other hand was fine. I have another that is no longer the place I go to rant and disclose my emotional revelations of that week and talk ambiguous shit about people.

These days I post recipes for muffins. Which s eems to be working out okay. There’s way less drama about muffins.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

