i made muffins again

i made INGREDIENTS (Nutrition) * 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour * 3/4 cup ground flax seed * 3/4 cup oat bran * 1 cup brown sugar * 2 teaspoons baking soda * 1 teaspoon baking powder * 1 teaspoon salt * 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon * 3/4 cup skim milk * 2 eggs, beaten * 1 teaspoon vanilla extract * 2 tablespoons vegetable oil * 2 cups shredded carrots * 2 apples, peeled, shredded * 1/2 cup raisins * 1 cup chopped mixed nuts 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease muffin pan or line with paper muffin liners. 2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, flax seed, oat bran, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add the milk, eggs, vanilla and oil; mix until just blended. Stir in the carrots, apples, raisins and nuts. Fill prepared muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. 3. Bake at 350 F (175 degrees C) for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

I’ve also been making kind of remarkable things with rice, which I will post at some later time.

These muffins I made because a) I moved to a pretty new house and the people moving out left behind a bagful of flax berries and b)my sweetie doesn’t eat sugary things, and she’s particularly fond of muffins. And…..I must feed the people I am dating. Apparently.

So, these muffins are funny, mostly because flax smells really unpleasant when it’s baking, and I was convinced they were going to taste like gross. Also because I used agave instead of sugar.

But actually they are fairly tasty. They will definitely keep you regular. Also, I cleaned out the coffee grinder and ground the flax berries in there, which was kind of fun, and I also ground up a cinammon stick in the coffee grinder because I couldn’t find any cinammon in the house. Which is so bizarre because my house is relatively well-stocked with spices. But I think they are mostly savory.

I also got  a lot of free apples and I was going to make crisp. But there are so many sweet things in my house.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

