tomato rice + applesauce. inflame your stomach then settle it.

Tomato rice recipe:

Of South Indian origin, tangy Tomato Rice makes a great one-dish meal. Serve it with poppadums.
Ingredients:

* 2 cups cooked Basmati rice (you can also use leftover rice)
* 4 large ripe tomatoes cut into cubes
* 2 tbsps vegetable/ canola/ sunflower cooking oil
* 1 tsp mustard seeds
* 1 large onion chopped fine
* 2 green chillies slit lengthwise
* 1″ piece of ginger grated
* 2 tsps coriander powder
* 1 tsp cumin powder
* 1 tbsp garam masala
* Salt to taste

Preparation:

* Heat the oil in a deep pan and add the mustard seeds and green chillies. When they stop spluttering add the onion and fry till soft.
* Add the tomato and ginger and mix well. Cook till the tomatoes turn pulpy.
* Add the coriander, cumin and garam masala powders, salt to taste and mix well. Cook on a low flame for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently.
* Turn off the fire and add the rice. Mix well.
* Serve with poppadums.
I don’t know what poppadums are. Someday I should probably find out. Also, I can never get it together to purchase chilis, and I would probably immediately cut them open and then touch my eyes. I don’t trust myself. I feel vaguely like a pervert wearing latex gloves and handling food as if I’m about to get into some kind of sensitive mucosal orifice of the food, but really that’s the only to save myself from an evening of severe pain in my eyes. And lips. And really anything else that happens to touch it. I use chili powder, and it seems to have worked. This last time I made it REALLY spicy (I’m still working out the spice situation in my new house and I got overenthusiastic withs someone else’s cayenne) and it must be consumed with yogurt on top. It actually kind of gives me a stomachache, I think. But when it is not overspiced, and really in many ways it is anyway, it is quite tasty.

Also, I made applesauce! Check it out:

* 3 to 4 lbs of peeled, cored, and quartered apples. (Make sure
you use a good cooking apple like Golden Delicious, Granny Smith,
Fuji, Jonathan, Mcintosh, or Gravenstein.)
* 4 strips of lemon peel – use a vegetable peeler to strip 4 lengths
* Juice of one lemon, about 3-4 Tbsp
* 3 inches of cinnamon stick
* 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar
* up to 1/4 cup of white sugar
* 1 cup of water
* 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Method

1 Put all ingredients into a large pot. Cover. Bring to boil. Lower
heat and simmer for 20-30 minutes.

2 Remove from heat. Remove cinnamon sticks and lemon peels. Mash with
potato masher.

Ready to serve, either hot or refrigerated. Delicious with vanilla ice
cream or vanilla yogurt.

Freezes easily, lasts up to one year in a cold freezer.

This recipe was really user-friendly, but I used Red Delicious apples, because that’s what I had, and left the peels on because eventually I just got tired of peeling. It turned the applesauce a pretty pink color. I added a cup of water, and used agave instead of sugar. And boiled it for an hour, actually. By accident. I think I was preoccupied with facebook.

It turned out pretty awesome, and I brought it over to my pregnant ladyfriend who I am trying to love through food. (She seemed pleased. And it smelled very cinammon-y and delicious.)

The tiny bit I tried was super-yummy, and she seemed quite pleased.

This evening I helped make strawberry jam, and while I have no great love for canning, it’s one of my goals of the summer to make pickles, and I’m considering doing some kind of easy homebrew. Two housing situations ago I lived with a really sweet girl who was very excited about fermentation, and was always making wine and saurkraut. I’m quite German in ancestry but I never learned to love saurkraut, though it is delicious on a Reuben.

In other news, happy summer solstice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

