bok choy.

Baby Bok Choy with Cashews Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped green onions, including green ends
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 pound baby bok choy, rinsed, larger leaves separated from base, base trimmed but still present, holding the smaller leaves together
  • 1/2 teaspoon dark sesame oil
  • Salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped, roasted, salted cashew1 Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan on medium high heat. Add onions, then garlic, then bok choy. Sprinkle with sesame oil and salt. Cover, and let the baby bok choy cook down for approximately 3 minutes. (Like spinach, when cooked, the bok choy will wilt a bit.)

    2 Remove cover. Lower heat to low. Stir and let cook for a minute or two longer, until the bok choy is just cooked.

    3 Gently mix in cashews.

    Serves 4.

I’ve been in Portland for the last week, and have been doing a lot of cooking, including the cooking of a whole chicken that still had it’s feet on and it’s head tucked under it’s wing until it fell out from being un-frozen.  But this was my favorite new recipe. It’s so simple, and I am kind of hesitant about bok choy in general, probably because it’s kind of bitter and I haven’t used it very much, but this recipe is awesome.
Also, about the chicken: I bought the biggest stockpot I could find, and cooked it with lots of salt, cayenne pepper, an onion, and a couple of tomatoes. And when it was finished I froze the stock with some additional  cayenne and salt. Super yummy. Which also later became matzo ball/kale/chicken soup. Which entailed throwing chicken stock, an onion, some chicken bits, more garlic and cayenne and salt, two bunches of dinosaur kale, and the matzo balls. It took me awhile to get the hang of making matzo balls-for a long time I made them and they turned out really chewy and kind of tough-it has really changed my life to make a habit of leaving the lid on. Because I think that leaving enough water/stock and keeping the lid on will make your matzo balls nice and fluffy and big.
Word to the wise, though: cut your kale down to smallish size. I have a problem with not cutting my greens small enough when I put them in soups and
I don’t eat very much meat, but the phenomenon of buying one big piece of meat and eating that for a whole week and structuring several means around the stock/meat/whatever I actually really enjoy, both because I am somewhat frugal and because it helps me conceptualize the structure of what I will be eating for the rest of the week, because a chicken lasts way longer than a bunch of kale does.
Also, I am highly dependent upon onions. I don’t know what it is about onions that I am so devoted to but I find something about them really comforting and I want to add them to everything I cook. It could just be that they go well in everything, except for things that are explicitly sweet. I have a habit for putting kale in things that it doesn’t necessarily need to go in, but I feel like onions always help, whereas stuffing lettuce into sandwiches or greens into soup just because you want them to present as being more robust than they actually are strikes me as somewhat lazy.
In other news, my food blog from last summer recorded my adventures working for starbucks, and this year my summer job to make ends meet has been at a mom-and-pop ice cream shop-quite literally, I am under the supervision of either Young Ed or Old Ed depending on what time of day I’m there (father/son) It’s a really bizarre affair-I get paid under the table and the shop itself is somewhat crusty, but it’s in a very bougie neighborhood and it’s not infrequent that I got $100 for a $7 worth of ice cream.
The psychology of food and indulgence is so interesting to me, as usual. I love when kids come in, and they fixate on the color of the ice cream rather than the flavor, because they can’t read anyway. I’ve had to dissuade a number of little girls intent upon being girls that the very pink peppermint will not taste good, but raspberry or strawberry is a much better idea. Parents also carry in tiny children that are not of an age to tell their parents what they want when given more than three choices, but simply point and wail, and these are the age of children that when I give them samples, the kids will just open up their mouths and expect me to feed them when I’m handing over the samples. This, I think is hilarious. Mostly because I do not often encounter people of whatever so trusting that they just expect me to put something delicious in their mouths. But I am female, and behind an ice cream counter, ergo, I will feed them and it will be delicious. Or, it will not be delicious to them, but they will spit it out and cry until we find something more agreeable.
So funny, and not that different than some adults I know.
Otherwise, it’s been an alright job. It’s close to my house and my coworkers are tolerable if not pleasant. I’m a little over the excitement about ice cream, but I think that could be that I’m happier now in the face of impending grad school and working part-time with an unremarkable but hourly wage than my somewhat aimless months of Americorps. (ie, I’m happier, and therefore feel less compelled to eat crappy food)
That being said, I may make an effort to drink more tea, because I have been drinking a lot of coffee this year, and I am not quite to the point of being motivated to change, but I know that it’s not great for me, so devising alternatives sounds like a lovely plan.
(My friend who works at a tea shop used to bring me this Victorian earl grey with lavender and roses in it and that sounds like a good habit to get back into.)
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

