aloo matar

Goes a little like this:

There are many, many different ways to prepare Aloo Matar, Indian spiced potatoes and peas. Some recipes use a coconut base, and others simmer the potatoes in a tomato sauce. This basic recipe uses a few simple spices for a flavorful and tangy Indian food dish that is both vegetarian and vegan. Serve with rice, if desired.
Ingredients:

* 3 tbsp vegetable oil
* 2 onions, diced
* 3 cloves garlic, minced
* 1 tsp fresh ginger, minced or grated
* 1 bay leaf
* 4 potatoes, chopped
* 1 1/2 cups peas
* 2 tbsp water
* 1 1/2 tsp garam masala
* 1 tsp paprika
* 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
* salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:
In a large skillet over medium high heat, sautee the onion, garlic and ginger for 3 to 5 minutes, or until onions are soft.

Add the bay leaf, potatoes and peas and stir to combine. Add the water. Cover and allow to cook at least ten minutes, or until potatoes are almost softened.

Add the garam masala and paprika. Cover and cook another 8 to 10 minutes.

Remove from heat. Stir in the cilantro and add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with rice if desired.

There are lots of different recipes for aloo matar, and this is the simplest one I found with the most things that I have in my kitchen.

And this is such an easy thing to make, and so tasty. It’s also fairly versatile in terms of having it whenever during the day-in the morning with eggs, or just on it’s own in the evening….

In other news, today I am quite sick, though I don’t feel terrible, but I can’t talk. Which is really weird. The only other time in my life when I’ve lost my voice I was 17 and had been on the phone until 4 in the morning.

I’m supposed to go to a couple of parties tonight, but I don’t know if that’s going to happen. In the meantime I’m going to drink a lot of tea.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

