banana bread/why I am living the dream

 

So, I found a recipe, and futzed with it, and this is how it went:

1 1/2 cups mashed banana

1 1/2 cups walnuts

1/2 cups pumpkin seeds

1 cup oatmeal

2 1/4 cups flour

2 eggs

3/4 yogurt (or milk!)

3/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp oil (veggie, canola, olive, whatever)

chocolate chips or bran optional. A cup of either. Or both.

Conclusion: I made a lot of bread, and put chocolate chips into the muffins that were made, which was the appropriate choice. Chocolate chips in bread would’ve been to much, and in banana bread was perfect.

Also, I have been meeting people lately who do not like or understand baking or do not know how to perfect it. Which, I have made a lot of imperfect bread, but most people I know just like to eat homemade carbs. If it isn’t burnt or bitter, most people are not incredibly discriminating. I no longer think it’s a cardinal sin to put bread in the microwave, but I will probably change my mind when I move to a house where there is not microwave.

I also appreciate making bread-things like this because they will tolerate all manner of crap being thrown in. And I enjoy throwing oats into random things because they add a fun texture (and are good for you, but in an earnest, unobscure way), and I have had more success putting oats in random of things rather than my previous impulse to put chocolate chips into, I don’t know, everything. But aside from oats, including seeds…..I don’t know what they actually were….I briefly entertained the possibility of throwing in trail mix, and stopped just short of the dried pineapple and decided to show some restraint.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

