sourdough plum bread

Here I combined my assets, and made something really miraculous up:

2 cups sourdough starter

3 cups flour (I used white, I bet you change it)

1 1/2 cups plum butter (I didn’t measure, but I suspect it was about that much.)

Mix together.Put in pans and let rise for 1 1/2-3 hours, depending on how patient you feel.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or so.

I’ve found out that baking with plum butter makes things delicious, and adds that element of dense-moistness that can sometimes be really desirable in baking, though not always. This is yummy, especially fresh, with butter and honey.

Another thing I’m fond of doing is sticking a whole chicken in a pot with water and cooking it down until the chicken is falling apart, and either using that for soup or what-have-you. (what else do I make besides soup? Nothing, really.)

So, I cooked up a chicken in such a fashion, and threw in onions and two bunches of collard greens and 3 cups of red lentils. It is hearty and bland like lots of food in the winter. And I have so, so much of it, but people will have to improvise with hot sauce or something. I’ve been making pozole lately which consistently winds up being way way too spicy, so the fact this is too bland is acceptable to me right now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

