peanut soup. kind of.

Throw this all in a pot together:

1 small, chopped up butternut squash

1 bunch kale

1 can black beans

1 can tomatoes (crushed is ideal)

most of a jar of peanut butter

3 chopped up potatoes

2 onions

And spices: garlic, bay leaves, chicken stock, red pepper flakes, oregano, rosemary.

Cover in water. Cook until smushy. In this particular case, run part of it through a blender and dump it back in.

A stunning amount of the things I cook involve putting things in a pot and simmering them until they are done.  A friend of mine calls this method “mush in a pot” and it is usually how she cleans out the remains of her CSA box and refrigerator.  We have another housemate these days, and she is inclined to consume the things I make, which is awesome.

I have not been making bread as much lately, which is sad, but I think I will try later this week. I am having a nice lady to dinner and will probably reheat soup for her, because I have approximately 3 gallons of peanut soup and also some leftover chicken collard soup.

I kind of want to start a frozen soup collective where folks make a bunch of soup, and freeze it, and swap with their friends, with respect to dietary preferences and stuff like that. I think it would be exciting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

