collard greens & yamtastic

What I did:

Chopped up collard greens, the equivalent of 1 onion (though it was more like leftover scraps of a couple different onions…), and cooked on the stove with 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1 stick butter. Eventually throw in 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup water, and after this has mixed in and cooked off a little bit, dump in probably 4-5 tbsp some kind of vinegar ( I was looking for apple but found white wine vinegar….this seems fine)

Conclusion:

I executed this because I had some collard greens I didn’t want to die a sad death, I threw in more butter than I needed because I didn’t have any pork fat, which I have decided I don’t need to overcompensate for the lack of, in the future, so, next time: less butter. Also, I added more peanut butter than necessary, and the vinegar was a second-to-last-ditch attempt to keep this dish from dying an oversaturated death, and that went really well! The reason I did it like so is because there’s a peanut soup I used to make that had collard greens in it that was really yummy, and I have found collard greens a sort of challenging greens in a way that I first made friends with chard, and kale is kind of my fallback plan, but I’m trying to bridge out to putting collards in things that aren’t soup. Also, I cannot handle spinach. Something about it; I don’t really like the taste, or the flavor- recently made a spinach scramble, and wasn’t really into it. Shame, really.

Also: roasted a yam in olive oil, and shook cinammon, garam masala, and a little bit of chile powder on top. It tastes very yam-y (because it’s a yam….) in a way that isn’t super-familiar but also isn’t unpleasant.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

