coconut risotto. and mango curry.

I really enjoy flying by the seat of my pants with cooking; you know this.

My roommate loves risotto, and makes mushroom risotto sometimes. She described to me in a very eloquent detail the intense amount of milk and butter that goes into it; and because I am having a love affair with coconut milk I immediately considered what that would be like.

So: saute some red onion (I used about a quarter onion, minced), pour in about a 1/2 cup white wine and 1 1/2 cups arborio rice. The trick to making risotto is that you add more and more liquid slowly, keep stirring the whole thing over medium heat…..and, yeah, just keep stirring. I added a can of coconut milk, and over time I think 3 cups of water (with leetle chicken bouillon cubes thrown in-you can make this happen with veggie broth, too) and some salt and red pepper flakes. Oh man. Tasty. The most difficult thing about the whole process was the vigilant stirring it requires. Not for the faint of heart, this dish.

Also! Mango curry.

I fried up about 1 1/2 onions, and added a can of coconut milk, about 4 chopped up potatoes, a handful of cherry tomatoes, and two cubed mangos. With garlic, lots of turmeric, salt and pepper, cayenne, and cumin. I didn’t have any ginger, which was weird, but it was delicious without it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

